goodbye.

Defenestration; the act of throwing someone out of a window. Would that be an act or an art?

I had been falling for so long in that black hole that it felt like floating in an endless breeze and suddenly, you came and taught me how to fly. What the difference was. To not settle for anything less. You opened your window for me, I could see it in your eyes.

It’s when I remember do I ask myself; how did I not see it before?

And, a nagging question: Why did you open the window and not the door?

I never expected, after you stitched those wounds, tenderly, gently; fixed me up and smoothed down the lump in my throat, that you would put painkillers in my water, so I would never know, and painstakingly undo each stitch with the cold calculating cruelty I never associated with you.

When you brushed my windblown, tangled hair, and showed me how, if we braided our hair together, we would have to stand shoulder to shoulder until the band broke. You showed me how much it would hurt if we pulled each other apart by force, if one of us tried to run from the other, the pain prickling my mind as I deliberated how many hairs had been plucked from my scalp.

How did I not see the ruse? You were ever so stealthy.

I tried to teach you how to wiggle your eyebrows, so they looked like the very hungry caterpillar inching across a branch. I tried to teach you how to smirk, so you could throw that lopsided smile at me across the class. I tried to teach you how to muster enough swagger to say, “Come at me, bro”; how to do what they could do. I tried to teach you to stop a sneeze by thinking of the word cucumber, and remember how we laughed at that princess’ curse. I thought we were pushing through the crowd together, when I taught you, but… you never learned.

The long moments we spent staring into the other’s laughing eyes, I thought that was love. I thought you were my sister, and I thought you did too. And now every book I read with you, discussed with you, criticized with you burns my fingertips, and I now see the callouses your love left on my hands. I see the reopened wounds which will never heal, no matter how much salve I apply, and the pockmarks of days gone by.

You asked me why I wore my heart on my sleeve. You asked me why I never hid it inside my chest, where it belonged; why I put myself in a vulnerable position before the whole world. You asked me why I was so willing to be hurt, but I told you, I told you that it wasn’t a weakness, it was a strength. That, though it was on my sleeve, it was on the sleeve of my tunic, covered with my armor, the armor I only ever took off in front of you.

And it’s now that I realize, I never really saw your heart. You had closed the window on me long ago, trying to pry my fingers off the ledge that illusioned me, that ever so thin ledge piled with lies, like the floating edge, showing me safety when there wasn’t any, only a three-meter drop to the ground that could kill me if you pushed me wrong.

What I saw was just a reflection of what you saw in me, what I wanted to see. And so I allowed you to lead me to the window boxes, to show me some flowers you had put in those things. A hand on my elbow, guiding me.

And the moment you put your hand on the small of my back, as I leaned out the window, that moment was when I realized: You never learned anything from me. 

A gentle push and a sigh later, I was suspended in the black hole again, time and space at a standstill, my life at a standstill, the stitches undone, and the magic of the painkillers leaving way for the pounding heartache to take root, push out its tendrils and stain my veins with its bitter black blood.

And that was all it took, my friend.

And so, really, defenestration can’t just be an act. An act may be calculated and measured, but art speaks where words are unable to explain. And the way you carefully measured out your words, teaspoon by teaspoon, and fed me your lies, was artistic, really. 

I must applaud you. You taught me many things. But now, when I cannot look at people the same way again, when I cannot relate, or hold up my end of a conversation, or even muster a genuine smile, I must tell you, I can’t remember anything else that I might’ve learned from you.

And though I desperately want to hate you and shut you out just as completely as you have done to me, my heart does not know enough to forget. Because I can’t blame you for hurting me— I am, without doubt, my own worst enemy. Because the one real reason I wear my heart on my sleeve, the reason I never told you, was so that I would not feel disconnected.

But now that the disconnection eats me alive,—how can I love when I’m afraid to fall— an army of mindless arms, enveloping me and pulling me down deeper than I’ve ever been, and I won’t have anyone to help me out this time. It’s just as well, because I’m meant to do this on my own. So I can’t feel betrayed when someone reaches down into my well and pulls me up while I cling to the rope like a lifeline; so that I have no one but myself to blame when yet another friend realizes that I’m gum to be scraped off their shoe sole.

I don’t expect anyone to help me from my funk again. Because this is not the first time. Because this time, I’m moving on. I just wish to say to you the thing that I could not say on grad last year because you didn’t even let me sign your freaking hat. I just wanted to say,  

goodbye.

Featured image

4 thoughts on “goodbye.

  1. Hi Rida,

    I loved reading this post, and how you turned such an odd word into such an interesting concept was simply amazing. The ideas you explored in this free choice hooked my attention and kept me hooked on it until I finished it.

    The only thing I would recommend changing would be picking a picture without a quote on it, and then talk about that quote in your actual writing instead. That might have been an artistic choice, but since I don’t really know, that’s my one suggestion.

    Either way, your post was great and I can’t wait to see what else you come up with this year.

    Sincerely, Tanzi.

    1. Hey Tanzi,

      The original idea for this post stemmed from my overactive imagination, I somehow made the connection between “defenestration” and that phrase that people are always throwing around; “your eyes are a window to your soul”. I’m glad I was able to hook you with the weird ongoings in my control central!

      I get where you’re coming from in regards to my quote-pic mash-up, I actually chose the quote and used my post as a sort of “response”, if you will, to the quote and, like you said, it was an artistic choice. I understand how my intentions might have been a bit hazy, and I’ll remember to keep that in mind in the future.

      Cheers,
      Rida

  2. Dear Rida,
    You write so beautifully. I was thoroughly entranced by your words. From the jaw-breaking line, “…so I would never know, and painstakingly undo each stitch with the cold calculating cruelty I never associated with you.” to the poignant grief in, “I can’t remember anything else that I might’ve learned from you.” your character was one that I felt that many students can relate to.
    You had asked me for points of improvement, and I will put them in the list form below. Please do not see this list and be discouraged – it is your choice if you want to include my ideas or not. I am merely pointing out some suggestions:
    1. The sentence, “When you grabbed me from the black hole…” is currently a run-on.
    2. I felt that you overused the semicolon. I think that you should switch a few for simple periods because it will have a dramatic effect, style-wise.
    3. Your imagery was immaculate – however, there comes the issue that you have too many images. What I like to do is stick with a couple of strong pictures, build and dig deep into them, and come full circle with them in the end. Is there one symbol that you could use? Once again, this is a suggestion.
    4. I somewhat found it hard to decipher if the person your character was talking about was a lover or a sister because you used both terms. I would have appreciated some clarity for that part.
    I hope I did not scare you. These were just some things that stuck out to me. The ideas, imagery, sarcasm, and voice in this piece was my favorite part. You took this idea of grief and pain and made it into something tangible for your reader to digest. I think that using the word defenestration was a brilliant way to show this.
    I look forward to reading your work! And please do not hesitate to ask for feedback – I would love to leave some edits.
    Sincerely,
    Nazeefa

    1. Hey Nazeefa,

      Thank you so much for you praise! It really made my day 🙂

      Regarding the points you though I should improve on:
      1. I realize now that the sentence is a run-on, thank you for pointing it out to me as it escaped me in my editing process!
      2. I am not normally a semi-colon user, but I tried to use it as a springboard like Mrs. Hunni pointed out with Shakespeare’s writing style. I understand that periods work very well with some pieces to add that dramatic touch, but I felt that with this piece the semi-colons helped to add that sort of rambling unclarity that often comes with grief.
      3. I really like the idea of using one developing image instead of a mish-mash of unrelated ideas, and I resolve to use this technique for my poem due this week. Thank you for that idea!
      4. I left it unclear and used both terms in order to create a naive tone that developed through the piece, because younger children (especially girls, in my experience) tend to do the whole “you are my bff and I wish we could be sisters” thing quite a lot, and I wanted to build that connection between childhood and moving into adulthood.

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and feedback, Nazeefa; there is so much I can learn from you!

      Cheers,
      Rida

Leave a Reply